A RESOLUTION

Expressing the gratitude of the Congress and the people of the Federated States of Micronesia to Bethwel Henry for his lifetime of dedicated service to the people of the Federated States of Micronesia and his years of service as Postmaster of the Federated States of Micronesia.

- 1 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry's lifetime of devotion and service to
- 2 the people of Micronesia began as a teacher at the Pacific Islands
- 3 Central School and later included service with the Board of
- 4 Directors of the Ponape Agricultural and Trade School, membership
- 5 with KCCA, the Ponape Recreational Association and as a
- 6 Micronesian Advisor to the United States Delegation to the United
- 7 Nations Trusteeship Council; and,
- 8 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry first became involved in the work of
- 9 government as a member of the Ponape District Legislature where he
- 10 served as President, Vice Speaker and Speaker prior to election to
- 11 the First Congress of Micronesia in 1965; and,
- 12 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry served in the Congress of Micronesia
- 13 continuously from 1965 until becoming a Senator in the First
- 14 Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia in 1979, serving as
- 15 Floor Leader during the first session and as the Speaker from the
- 16 session forward while also assuming a leadership role in status
- 17 negotiations, the Constitutional Convention and the process
- 18 leading to the adoption of the Constitution of the Federated
- 19 States of Micronesia; and,
- 20 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry became the first Speaker of the
- 21 Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia in 1979 and was

- 1 returned to that post in each of the Second, Third and Fourth
- 2 Congresses; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry was first appointed as Postmaster
- 4 General of the Federated States of Micronesia by President John
- 5 Haglelgam in 1988 and was reappointed by Presidents Bailey Olter
- 6 in 1991, Jacob Nena in 1997, Leo A. Falcam in 1999 and Joseph J.
- 7 Urusemal in 2003; and,
- 8 WHEREAS, Bethwel Henry, more than any single person, has been
- 9 responsible for shaping the Federated States of Micronesia
- 10 National Postal Service into the successful and respected agency
- 11 it currently is while managing its course through "good" times and
- 12 "difficult times, always facing each new challenge with patience
- 13 and perseverance; and,
- 14 WHEREAS, the Congress and the people of a grateful nation
- 15 wish to formalize the profound appreciation felt for the
- 16 immeasurable contribution of Bethwel Henry in the establishment
- 17 and progression of the Federated States of Micronesia as an member
- 18 of the international community and in guiding and shaping the
- 19 National Postal Service as its Postmaster during the formative
- 20 years.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Fifteenth Congress of
- 22 the Federated States of Micronesia, Third Regular Session, 2008,
- 23 that the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia hereby
- 24 expresses its sincere thanks and the gratitude of the people of
- 25 the Federated States of Micronesia to Bethwel Henry for his

2 of 4

1 dedication to public service, his personal sacrifice, and his leadership during the formative years of the Federated States of 3 Micronesia and his enlightened and visionary approach in building and managing the Federated States of Micronesia National Postal Service. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this

3 of 4

1	recolution be transmitted t	to the President of the Federated States
2	of Micronesia the Governor:	s of each of the States, the Postmaster
3	of each of the States and	to the Bethwel Henry.
4		
5	Date: <u>2/21/08</u>	Introduced by: <u>/s/ Peter Sitan</u>
6		Peter Sitan
7	/s/ Isaas V. Fisir	/s/ Dohsis Halbert
/	<u>/s/ Isaac V. Figir</u> Isaac V. Figir	Dohsis Halbert
8		
9	/s/ Dion G. Neth	/s/ Setiro Paul
10	Dion G. Neth	Setiro Paul
11	/s/ Claude H. Phillip	/s/ Moses A. Nelson
Т.Т	Claude H. Phillip	Moses A. Nelson
12	1	
13	/s/ Joseph J. Urusemal	/s/ Fredrico O. Primo
14	Joseph J. Urusemal	Fredrico O. Primo
	/	
15	<u>/s/ Tiwiter Aritos</u> Tiwiter Aritos	
16		
17	/s/ Joe N. Suka	
	Joe N. Suka	
18		
19	/s/ Resio S. Moses	
20	Resio S. Moses	
	((D] '	
21	/s/ Paliknoa K. Welly Paliknoa K. Welly	
22		
23		

4 of 4